The 2019-2020 ILASFAA Award and Recognition Nomination Form is available here.

Meritorious Service Award

Description: The Meritorious Service Award is considered to have an extremely high value.

Criteria for Selection: This award is considered to be of extremely high importance and therefore the recipient must have made significant contributions to the profession, association(s) or education in general. The selection is based upon leadership or work on special projects. It is not required that these projects last for the entire year or for an extended length of time; they could also be for a single accomplishment. Nominees may be financial aid administrators or people from related fields who merit consideration. The nominee need not be a member of ILASFAA.

New Professional Recognition Award

Description: The New Professional Award is given annually to recognize the outstanding contributions of an individual who has been in the financial aid profession five years or less.

Criteria for Selection: Individuals will have demonstrated interest in ILASFAA activities, participated in professional meetings, and shown growth in the financial aid profession. This individual will be held in high regard by his or her peers.

Committee of the Year

Description: The Committee of the Year Award is a very high award given annually to the members of a committee. The purpose is to recognize those members of a committee who performed in an outstanding fashion.

Criteria for Selection: Consideration for this award shall be given to any ILASFAA Committee for a special function, conference, project or workshop during the President's term in office. The committee selected for the award should have made a contribution to the betterment of ILASFAA in a manner which is unique or truly significant and brings distinction to the group as a result.

President's Award

Description: The President's Award is considered to be one of ILASFAA's highest awards and is considered to have very high importance. It is given at the discretion of the President and is optional.

Criteria for Selection: The President selects the recipient of this award based on the individual's contribution to the Association during the President's term in office. The criteria to be used is based on the President's discretion or initiative, but may in fact be based on the completion of a special task, publication, survey or a host of other criteria.

Recognition of Retirement Awards

Description: Recognition of Retirement is given to those who retire from the financial aid profession during the current year. The recognition is considered to have a high level of importance.

Criteria for Selection: The criteria for this recognition is based on retirement from the financial aid profession due to reasons of health, age or institutional eligibility. The person must have served the most recent ten (10) years as a member of a financial aid office or in a position eligible for membership in ILASFAA. The retirement must have taken place during the current year or be scheduled to take place within 6 months immediately following the conference. The individual must be an ILASFAA member during the year prior to retirement.

Sustained Service Awards

Description: The Sustained Service Award is presented to regular members of the Association and is considered to have high importance.

Criteria for Selection: The recipient must have been active in the profession for a minimum of 10 years and have made substantive contributions to ILASFAA.

Lifetime Achievement and Years of Service Awards

Lifetime Achievement:  The recipient of this award exemplifies the ideals of service to the profession, support of colleagues and advocacy for students.  This award is the highest honor ILASFAA bestows upon an individual member and requires significant contributions over an extended period of time; therefore a recipient may not be named each and every year.

Years of Service:  Each year ILASFAA honors those who are continuing members and have served students in the Financial Aid Profession for 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, and 45 years.